Product Reviews

The Bakery Case at Decadent Dogs…for dogs only

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 4.24.04 PM

Leaps Wednesday Review: Today I am sitting pretty and begging for these Preppy Puppy Treats. They are so good I even figured out how to open this case so I can get them myself (my moms a party pooper though and always catches me! Got to learn to be sneakier!) My mom says we are a special store because this bakery (Preppy Puppy) sends these treats special just for us! They are in Massachusetts (wherever that is) and they get sent to us a few times a month. I like tasting them when we get new ones. Made of all natural stuff you would find in your cabinet at home that are good for me and cute to boot. I personally like the PBandJ sandwiches and the Poodle Puffs. I think they are definitely a best seller here because I get tempted all day long when they open the case for other dogs. I give these cookies a big 4 paws up!! *all reviews are based on my own 4 paw rating system. I would give more if I had them! A little Border Collie can only do so much.


Leap loves going green! Green toys that is!

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 3.13.10 PM

Leaps Wednesday Review: These fun “green” toys are also totally safe and healthy for me! Made out of rice husk rubber that is totally natural and no chemicals to hurt me. These are sure to be a fun toy for any dog. We can play tug with the soft rope and ball, play fetch and chew with the bones, and I can even do my favorite thing with Lucy the Parrot… SQUEAK! I give these Beco Toys 3 paws up (they lost one paw because my mom says they aren’t the toughest toy for really tough chewers) *all reviews are based on my own 4 paw rating system. I would give more if I had them! A little Border Collie can only do so much.


Need a flag? Large for the house or small for the garden?

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 8.58.20 AM

Most (well, more than 150 Breeds!)Dog Breeds are available as flags.  Choices range from black or white German Shepherds, along with a traditional coloring to Goldendoodles in black, red, chocolate, blonde or white.  And backgrounds are a natural garden or field to Holidays:Shamrocks for St Pats, Red, white and blue for July 4th, Autumn leaves for Fall, flowers for summer, Easter flowers, Winter Berries, Roses for Valentines, Christmas designs.  Check our website for some options, stop by to see them all!


Leap’s Review!

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 12.29.38 PM

Leaps Wednesday Review: I love being snuggly cozy warm. This cozy cave by Snoozer fits the bill! I can crawl right in and take a nap. It has really soft white fluffy stuff inside that I can snuggle into while feeling like I am covered up too. Perfect for me and my friends who like to sleep under blankets in the cold. My mom says you can even take off the whole outside to clean it in that magic machine that makes all my things smell fresh and new again. She says that’s a great thing, I personally like making my stuff smell like me and my adventures! I like this large size one but they come in all different sizes for all my friends. I give it 4 paws up! *All reviews are based on my own 4 paw rating system. I would give more if I had them! A little Border Collie can only do so much.


Leap’s Wednesday Review: Zuke’s Mini Naturals are BEST training treats!

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 8.22.52 PM

Leaps Wednesday Review: Zuke’s treats are my favorite when I am training. I can eat a whole bunch of them and still keep my slender active figure. A great little treat to tell me I was a good girl and make me happy but not too much that I get distracted from my next task! They are soft and about pea sized so very easy to eat. My mom says they are healthy for me because they are wheat, corn, and soy free – I just think they taste yummy. I can get them in a bunch of flavors too like Rabbit, Pork, Salmon, Peanut Butter, and more! I give them 4 paws and a bunch of happy taste buds up! *All reviews are based on my own 4 paw rating system. I would give more if I had them! A little Border Collie can only do so much.


Ruffwear for great quality Dog Products

Posted on by roxanne

IMG_6937

Product Spotlight: Ruffwear is a great company who makes extra durable products for those outdoor and active dogs. They also make great leashes for running that can be used hands free and have bungee sections to help absorb some shock and pull. We have backpacks, collars with metal buckles, slack line leads from ruffwear, even rain jackets! Come on in and check them out. www.decadentdogs.com


Leap reviews the GoDog toys!

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2017-02-11 at 6.14.04 PM

Leaps Wednesday Review: Go Dog Go! Do your dogs like to “go go go” when it comes to destroying toys like I do? Well these GoDog! toys may be just the fit for you too then. They squeak and flop and fluff AND they are made extra tough. The human people who make them even are so confident in how well they made them… if I kill it within 30 days of purchase they will give me a NEW one! That’s pretty cool of those humans. From Dinosaurs to Chickens to Wild Animals they have toys for all personalities. I personally love the chickens floppy long legs like mine! I give them 4 paws up! *All reviews are based on my own 4 paw rating system. I would give more if I had them! A little Border Collie can only do so much.


Leap’s Wednesday Review of Polartec Coats

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2017-01-19 at 4.03.04 PM

Leaps Wednesday Review: Apache River Coats! Wow, these coats can keep me and my friends so warm and snuggly. Made of thick comfortable material they fit real snug so they don’t bug me when I am running and playing either. My momma says they even come in a special long version for those really long bodied dogs that have a hard time finding coats. They can also adjust so they can fit a big chest like some of my friends have. Since, every dog no matter their shape is special and should have a feel good coat! I give these coats a big 4 paws up! *All reviews are based on my own 4 paw rating system. I would give more if I had them! A little Border Collie can only do so much.


Leap’s Expert Toy Review!

Posted on by roxanne

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-1-21-51-pm

Leap’s Wednesday Review: Do you ever feel lonely and just need a friend? I know I do! These Huggle Hounds are great friends though. They are made of thick skin so even when I get mad at them and bite them they don’t rip. They are also nice and warm to cuddle up with. I even like to hang out in this basket with them! I give them 3 paws up! *All reviews are based on my own 4 paw rating system. I would give more if I had them! A little Border Collie can only do so much.


High Visibility Vest-the BEST during Hunting Season, especially!

Posted on by roxanne

DSCN3629

Gilligan is doing a great job modeling this Safety Orange Vest with reflective piping.  We still want to enjoy walks in the woods and on the trails, just make sure you and your dog are seen, day and night!  Made of lightweight mesh and comfortable (Gilly told me it’s true)


Old World Christmas Ornaments

Posted on by roxanne

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-11-49-03-am

Decadent Dogs carries ALL the dog Christmas ornaments from Old World and they are all adorable, and true depictions of breed! This new Doodle dog is so cute, certainly captures the Doodle energy and fun spirit!


Treat rated “Top Dog Treat” by Gilligan!

Posted on by roxanne

IMG_4546

The Lickety Stik lickable pet treat  gives your dogs all the excitement and flavor of a moist treat without the sticky mess. A tidy rollerball dispenses all-natural liquid goodness –dogs just lap it up! Now there’s a way to treat your dog with a highly enjoyable all-natural liquid treat. With Lickety Stik your dog gets all of the flavor and none of the bulk of other biscuits and treats that can fill ‘em up.

A treat of 10 licks is just 1 calorie. Each bottle contains over 500 licks! This handy pocket size goes anywhere and is great as a training reward or “just because”.

  • 3 Natural flavors with added vitamins-Bacon (YUM!), Chicken and Peanut ButterScreen Shot 2016-08-04 at 3.59.57 PM
  • Over 500 licks per bottle
  • Only 1 calorie in every 10 licks and 50 calories per bottle
  • No-mess roller-ball
  • Made in the U.S.A.
  • Great for training

Huggle Hounds Galore!

Posted on by roxanne

hugglehounds-octoknottie

Huggle Hounds are a great stuffed animal for your dog. Fairly tough fabric, with a soft interior that encases a few squeakers for added enjoyment. They come in a variety of shapes and sizes, from wee little ones small enough for the 2 pounders all the way up to the jumbo sized for the large breeds.

We always suggest to have some hard toys, some soft toys, and a few in between to avoid chewed socks, blankets, slippers, and furniture. (As with any toy, play should be supervised).


Never Camp Or Boat Or Hunt Alone!

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 11.31.21 AM

Here at we love to include our dogs in everything we do!  And so do our customers!

We have just the right teeshirts available for fun with the dog along!Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 6.31.00 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-13 at 11.30.44 AM

 


Hydration Is Key

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 4.24.19 PMWith summer in full swing our furry friends need to stay hydrated too! The staff at Decadent Dogs love to use the Gulpy water dispensers. These bottles come in two different sizes and colors. It is a convenient way to keep water on hand while you are hiking, biking, or even just going on a nice evening walk downtown. The Gulpy bottles can also be hooked onto your backpack, belt loop, or your dog’s harness. If you are an avid biker these bottles will fit right into your bike’s water bottle holder. They are the perfect way to keep your furry friend happy and healthy on these hot summer days!


Christmas in July at Decadent Dogs!

Posted on by roxanne

Yes, Decadent Dogs keeps their Stockings up all year!

Available in 56 Breed Options!  And soooo beautiful!  Hand done in Needlepoint, every stitch a labor of love.  Dog’s name may be embroidered along the top for an additional $8.  Call us to add embroidery-269-639-0716.

IMG_2268


Stress Relief using Pet Remedy

Posted on by roxanne

 Does your dog struggle with anxiety?  No matter what the trigger (Separation, Fireworks, Lightning, etc) Pet Remedy can help!  Use the Plug In model for continuous calming, making it much easier to calm pet when the triggers are approaching. Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 10.21.22 AM
Pet Remedy Benefits:
  • 100% Natural blended essential oils (Sweet Basil, Sage, Valerian & Vetiver)
  • Longer lasting
  • Cross species meaning you can use one for all household pets
  • Use on clothes, bedding & both your’s and your pet’s skin to help sooth and calm.

Buddy Belts

Posted on by roxanne

DSCN4542

Buddy Belts are a great harness option.  They are made in all sizes, to fit a 1- 100+ lb  dogs! Decadent Dogs carries the 4 smallest sizes of Buddy Belts and are happy to order larger sizes.  Traditional neck collars can cause unnecessary strain and discomfort for pets. In many cases this strain results in damage to your pet’s trachea (windpipe) and/or spine.  The Buddy Belt dips very low below the neck on the chest, and never cause trachea or neck damage.  The closure is a traditional belt.  We welcome customers to stop by and let us fit your dog with the very harness option!Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 8.03.26 PM


BeneBones Product Review

Posted on by roxanne

benebone_bacon_grp

The staff here, at Decadent Dogs, has fallen in love with a fairly new chew toy! The Benebone was first introduced to us last fall, and we can’t get enough of it. Benebone is a USA based family business. They keep all of their manufacturing process here in the US, in support of small businesses. They have very simple ingredient lists, and are very supportive of animal welfare groups, including shelters and rescues.

Now let’s talk practicality; the benebone comes in a few shapes and sizes including wishbone shapes and rocking dental chews. They are available in three different flavors: Bacon, Peanut Butter, and Chicken and are simply Nylon bones with actual bacon, peanuts, or chicken thrown in for the flavor. Similar to regular nylabones, the Benebone can help clean your dogs teeth as it chews, which can save them from extra dental work later.

Staff Member, Esther S., absolutely loves having these bones around her house stating, “My dogs love these, almost as much as real bones, and they fight over them constantly. Yet between all three dogs, these bones have held up amazingly!”
(Her dogs include a 25lb border collie mix, 30lb pit-lab mix, and 50lb Doberman mix that is still growing).

These chews have quickly become one of our “go-to” toys for intense chewers, and have already saved many chair legs and flip flops!


Who needs Doggles?

Posted on by roxanne

DSCN5056

Decadent Dogs staff is asked why Dogs would need Doggles often!  And, here is the answer!  Dogs that ride on motorcycles, boats or hang their heads out of car windows could use a pair to protect their eyes from sand, rocks, sun, and wind.  Especially pale eyed dogs, like Huskies, could use sun protection, even when NOT on a boat!  Dogs hiking in the mountains, summer or winter, could use the protection form sun and/or falling rocks, sand, snow. Dogs eyes can be damaged just like human eyes.  Originally designed by the Army for dogs in Iraq as sun and sun protection for their Bomb-Sniffing, K-9 Dogs.  And made available to the public once they were proven to be so protective!  Decadent Dogs recommends putting your dogs Doggles on the first time out in the bright sunlight-they quickly understand what a benefit they are!  And then they learn-Doggles on=Good Times!  And besides, do we have to mention they are just adorable in Doggles?  Picture is Annie, a Havanese, showing off her Doggles!


Chilly Dog Sweaters

Posted on by roxanne

DSCN4256

The best in doggie sweaters from Chilly Dogs-washable wool, Fair Trade made in Peru, easy to put on, easy to wear and warm!


I Like Big Mutts and I cannot lie ……BallCap

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 6.55.13 PM

Fun Hat to show the love! Try NOT to sing the song, I dare you!
Top quality hat and stitching
Other sayings include: Dog Dad, Dog Mom, Dog Lover 24/7 and Life is Better with a Dog


Christmas Stockings

Posted on by roxanne

IMG_2268

Doesn’t every dog deserve a stocking hung by the chimney with care? With their name monogrammed on it? Decadent Dogs can help-with a hand needlepointed in wool, Christmas stocking-available in 56 Breeds! $34.95 each, monogram $8.


What’s the difference between a Tuffy Ultimate Toy and a Mega?

Posted on by roxanne

Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 5.59.44 PM

So, what’s the difference between a Tuffy Ultimate Toy and a Mega Toy? Both are Tuffy Toy Tuff, the toughest soft toy with a squeaker. The Mega Toy has 7 layers of fabric, versus 4 layers in the Ultimate. This gives the Mega one more point on the “Chomper” Scale, so Megas rate a 10 versus a 9 for the Ultimate. Probably 90% of dogs can’t kill an Ultimate Tuffy Toy but, for those last 10% of chewers, grab a Mega Toy!


Happy Halloween!

Posted on by roxanne

P1010603

It’s coming….tricks and treats and things that go bump in the night!
Halloween Costumes are now 40% off at both Decadent Dogs locations! Let us help you celebrate in style!


Stella and Chewy Raw Food

Posted on by roxanne

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 9.41.06 PM

Decadent Dogs carries this fabulous Raw Food- available both Freeze dried using High Pressure or Frozen, raw. Feed your dog as Nature intended!


Bully Stick Product Review

Posted on by roxanne

Birdie Approved

The beef ligament is the best thing I have found for Birdie to chew on. It is hard initially and softens as she chews on it. Unlike the typical dog treats which only last for a few minutes these last for days of constant chewing. Sent by Bill, A Decadent Dog customer!


Jan Lucking Artwork

Posted on by roxanne

DSCN4289

Jan does fabulous Breed Specific Artwork-Check her work out in own new Holland Decadent Dogs store!


New T-shirts arriving daily!

Posted on by roxanne

bulldog marine.195.195

New t-shirts arriving-available in Adult sizes SM to 5XL!  Garment washed, preshrunk, nice quality.  Either Made in USA OR dyed and printed in USA.


It’s all about the dog Hoodies

Posted on by roxanne

Blue hoodies available now!




shopping dog